Blues await Champions League draw

Andre Villas-Boas will find out who Chelsea will face in the Champions League group stages when the draw takes place in Monaco on Thursday at 16.45 BST.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
The Blues are in ‘Pot One’, they are joined by fellow English teams Arsenal and United, and Euro giants  Barcelona, Bayern Munich, Inter Milan and Real Madrid.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
AVB will be hoping to avoid Italian champions A C Milan and Shakhtar Donetsk from ‘Pot two’, then in ‘Pot three’ Ajax and Bayer Leverkusen look the most dangerous teams.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                
The one lower seed side Chelsea do not want to play is Napoli who impressed everyone with their display in Serie A last season, and German side Borussia Dortmund are not to be underestimated.                                                                                                                                                                              
Pots for Thursday’s Draw                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Pot one – Manchester United, Barcelona, Chelsea, Bayern Munich, Arsenal, Real Madrid, Porto, Inter Milan.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    
Pot two – Shakhtar Donetsk, Lyon, Villarreal, AC Milan, Valencia, Marseille, CSKA Moscow, Benfica.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                     
Pot three – Zenit St Petersburg, Man City, Olympiakos, Ajax, Bayer Leverkusen, BATE Borisov, Basle, Lille.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
Pot four – Borussia Dortmund, Trabzonspor, Dinamo Zagreb, Napoli, APOEL, Genk, Otelul Galati, Viktoria Plzen.
By Scott Balaam
Twitter @theshed11


Leave a Comment